October 2009 Budget Recap

Let’s see how I did!

INCOME: $1653.19

  • $1000 — Taken from Savings
  • $500 — Side Job editing
  • $120 — Sold 2 statues
  • $15 — Swagbucks (read about it here)
  • $18.19 — Google Adsense (WOO HOO!)

EXPENSES: $1579.91

  • $371 — Rent
  • $207.79 — Groceries
  • $57.36 — Cellphone
  • $12.75 — Bus Tickets
  • $88.01 — Vitamin pills (enough for 3 months)
  • $33.66 — Sifter, Fat separator, Silpat for baking & baking pan
  • $216.28 — Eating Out (went back to Ontario & saw family/friends)
  • $19.89 — Starbucks
  • $58.75 — Bought a 50 ft. internet cable cord for my mom
  • $46.78 — J. R. Watkins Lemon Creams (On sale, so I stocked up like a mofo)
  • $308.56 — Shopping (2 sweaters, 2 blouses, dress, tights)
  • $74.25 — Books/Gifts (4 Photo albums, gifts for mom & dad)
  • $30.47 — Everybody Hates Chris (Season 1) (BF & I love this show!)
  • $53.55 — Shoe shine for boots, Changed batteries on 2 watches

Came under budget with: $73.28 to spare


It was a damn expensive month.

I spent half of it in Ontario, visiting family and friends (we were out for breakfast, lunch AND dinner)

I’m surprised I squeaked by with such a low eating out, books/gifts cost. Huh.

I also went a tad crazy buying stuff. Sweaters, tops, dress and tights?

I have to watch that, which won’t be hard, considering that I am now totally sick of shopping.

We also aren’t going to Asia, so that $5000 stays in my bank.

NET WORTH: $55,797.02 Decreased -$13,996.99 or -19%

Reason: I had to pay the yearly taxes for the business.

Which is exactly 19%.


  • Cash on hand: $73.83
  • Chequing: $5
  • Savings: $9523.48
  • Retirement & Individual Stock Trading: $30,804.90
  • Business: $15,394.81


  • $0: Credit Card
  • $0: Business Taxes (paid this month)

Update: Job Hunting/Contract Finding Good News

I have 3 semi-warm leads on jobs or contracts.


One is an upcoming contract in 2010 for Montreal, but I am not holding my breath, as they already have another consultant there.

Potential: $52,800 in 3 months


The second is an upcoming 3 month contract for Ohio (not thrilled about having to travel, but I’ll do it).

It’s all expenses paid — food, travel, etc, so I’ll save money on food for 3 months, at least.

Potential: $48,000 in 3 months


The third is a permanent job in Ontario, plus benefits, bla bla bla.

I don’t really want to move or join a company, but it sounds like a really interesting project for an awesome client, and I am less interested in money than I am in a project & experience right now.

And I wouldn’t be too far from BF.

Potential: Gross Salary is $100,000 a year

Actual net potential: $42,000 in 12 months

(I worked it out, it’s about $5000 net a month, after taxes, maybe $3500 after I pay for food & apartment in Ontario, which means I can save $42,000 in 12 months)

I am not crossing my fingers for any of them, because I don’t like getting my hopes up.

I do see that the job market is picking up for IT, and we’ll see how it goes.

About the Author

Just a girl trying to find a balance between being a Shopaholic and a Saver. I cleared $60,000 in 18 months earning $65,000 gross/year. Now I am self-employed, and you can read more about my story here, or visit my other blog: The Everyday Minimalist.