Living with someone

As you all know, I’m now living in another city with BF.

To move out, I brought everything I needed in these 3 bags:
1 Carry-On
1 Puma-like Athletic Bag
1 Backpack

Granted, it isn’t EVERYTHING I own, I have about 2-3 large suitcases of stuff left, but that’s basically all I need for the rest of my life to move with, minus the winter gear (winter coat, muffs, gloves, boots).

The first night I came to the city with BF, he turned to me, hugged me, and with a big smile said: “Now you’re going to be here forever“….

It was the nicest thing I had ever heard. Completely delivered in a calm, unassuming voice as if stating a matter of fact.

But now that I am living with BF, I guess there are some ground rules that have to be set (although since I’ve been here every weekend, for half the week, we’ve fallen into a routine already)

Here are my list of questions to ask:

1. Who’s going to cook – lunches, dinners, breakfasts? Are we doing a bag lunch thing where one of us cooks for the whole week, and we stack up 10 boxes of food to last us through? And along those lines – what are we going to buy to eat, so we don’t duplicate food purchases.

2. Who’s going to clean? Laundry? Dishwasher loading?

3. How are we splitting everything? Does one of us pay for everything and then gives the other a bill at the end of the month? This one is really important because you don’t want resentment in a relationship at all.

4. Explain the rules and the kind of habits you may have when you’re at home, you know, pet peeves!

5. Don’t forget to give yourself your own emotional and personal space. Just because you live together doesn’t mean you need to be tied at the hip together 24/7. Have your own friends, and your own life or it’s going to end up bad.

6. Have a plan B. Always have a plan for just in case things don’t work out — you just never know.

Any other tips from other co-habitants?

Tags: , ,

About the Author

Just a girl trying to find a balance between being a Shopaholic and a Saver. I cleared $60,000 in 18 months earning $65,000 gross/year. Now I am self-employed, and you can read more about my story here, or visit my other blog: The Everyday Minimalist.